BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jejobo2340
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner with SAS world and I want to find study materials for myself. I would like to learn everything related to data preparation(ETL) in SAS Viya in order to perform all the transformations on tables and prepare them for the SAS report (but for now I am not interested in the report preparation itself) .

I saw some videos on youtube showing data preparation like this one, but I afraid using the GUI for creating the transformations is not enough in real-world scenarios where the transformations become complex. 

So my idea is to master the data preparation first and then learn the reporting part (like this video) which seems much easier. 

So can someone suggest a comprehensive study material for the data preparation? maybe I need to learn Sas coding first, I saw many books related to coding but I did not find one showing the coding skill in the SAS Viya environment, not the SAS studio alone.

Cheers

update: I also need to learn how to use data modeling techniques such as creating a star schema model in SAS Viya.

5 REPLIES 5
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
We have a class on self-service data preparation in SAS Viya, you will find the course nformation here:
https://support.sas.com/edu/schedules.html?id=18401&ctry=US -- this is a 2 day class, which represents in-depth training on Data Preparation in SAS Viya, so it is more detailed than a YouTube video.

To learn about Programming in SAS Viya, using SAS Studio, you would look at this course, entitled Programming with SAS Viya, here: https://support.sas.com/edu/schedules.html?crs=PGVIYA&ctry=US and the more advanced
High-Performance Data Processing with CASL in SAS Viya class, shown here: https://support.sas.com/edu/schedules.html?crs=CASL&ctry=US

Be sure to look at the prerequisites tabs on both pages because they will show you what basic level of SAS knowledge you need before taking these classes.