BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Pixydust12
Calcite | Level 5

Hi everyone!

I'm very new to SAS, and I'm confusing myself when it comes to renaming, formatting, and labeling data. I have a data set with the variable RACE, and I need to rename one variable, and then rename + combine 3 into 1. Would I need to use a rename statement, or a format statement?

RACE:

Black or African American- I need to rename this to African American

Asian Indian- I need this to be "Asian/Pacific Islander"

Asian or Pacific Islander, no specific (individual) race- I need this to be "Asian/Pacific Islander"

Other Asian or Pacific Islander- I need this to be "Asian/Pacific Islander"

Chinese

Guamanian or Chamorro

Japanese

White

Unknown

12 REPLIES 12
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

You can rename a variable, but you cannot rename a value.

You can attach a label to a variable, but you cannot attach a label to a value (this is not SPSS). 

You can use a format to make values display in a different way. (Formats are used to determine how values are displayed as text.)

You can use code to create new values, either into new variables or back into the original variable. You can even use a format in combination with code to make creating new values easier.

Do you have one variable named RACE with values like "Black or African American" and "Asian Indian"?

Or do you have multiple variables?

Why don't you start by creating a format for you RACE values that will display them the way you want.

proc format;
value $racefmt 
 'Black or African American' = 'African American'
 'Asian Indian'
,'Asian or Pacific Islander, no specific (individual) race'
,'Other Asian or Pacific Islander' 
   = 'Asian/Pacific Islander'
 ;
run;

You could try using the format with your existing data (without making any changes to the data).  Usually that is all you need to do.  For example by including a FORMAT statement in the procedure you want to run against the data.

proc freq data=have;
  tables race;