BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
shanky_44
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello everyone, 

I am new to SAS and trying to learn as much  as possible. While practicing, I came across a data set in which I need to create a variable with particular observations. I think this problem can be solved from first. and last. observation. However, expecting experts feedback and please provide alternate solutions as well as, if possible. Thanks !

Problem ; 

data is similar to this scenario: new var is a character variable 

name  country  gender  New_var 

x          Y           M              D1

x1         Y1        F               D2 

X2         Y2       M              D1

X3         Y3       M              D2

Here I have created new_var and I have D1 and D2 values but I need to have D1 +D2 observation is same variable along existing observation.        

9 REPLIES 9
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

I suggest you start by reviewing the definitions of Observation and Variable in SAS. Then you might want to reword your question.

PG
shanky_44
Obsidian | Level 7

shell.PNG

this is the shell. ROI variable is not in our data,  I have created ROI varibale with ROI 1 and ROI 2 observation in data set with the help of one variable. Now I want ROI 1 + ROI 2 in same variable with  other observation.  I know it is not explained well but in this platform and the technicality of work, I am not able to explain everything. I apologize  and thanks for everyone for trying to help me out. 

Reeza
Super User
This may be easier if you show what you have as a starter and what you want as the final output. I *think* you're starting with name, country, and gender, and you're trying to calculate New_var?
shanky_44
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi Reeza,