BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
danbohac
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS/OR and trying to solve a combinatorial optimization problem that similar to a LP scheduling problem.  I've drawn out the concept in graph form.

The idea is given an adjacency list that represent Graph1, find the order sequence of node moves from Graph1 to Graph2 to minimize the overall step cost of edges that return to Graph1. The number of nodes moved in each step could be variable to allow clusters of highly connected node to move together.  I've shown two sequences(Test 1 and Test 2) to show the difference order has on the sum of step costs.

I've evaluated the examples under proc clp and proc optmodel to see if I could create the minimum cost sequence.  Here is one example I've been attempting to adapt: http://support.sas.com/kb/37/488.html  I'm currently on SAS 9.22 which may be causing issue with the attempts to use proc clp given changes to the experimental procedure with 9.3.

Any help in showing an example or pointing to the correct procedure and problem formulation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dan.

Graph Groom.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Philipp_SAS
SAS Employee

Hi Dan,

Sorry that my code crashed on you, I tried running it here on several machines and with several versions of SAS/OR but could not find any problem. I did notice that I left in the "primalin" option, depending on what version of SAS you are running that might be the problem. Otherwise, solving with slightly different edgedata might give you some code that is not running. Your log looks like it's not from the latest SAS/OR release (9.3), so upgrading sure would help. I attached a version of the code without primalin, see if it works.