BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SASNewbie
Fluorite | Level 6

Greetings,

Newbie here, need information if it is ok or possible to install SAS Base 9.3 and SAS Data Integration Studio 4.4 all in one computer?

Would there be any issues if both are installed together? If the answer is yes, what is the right sequence for installing both? Appreciate the help .

Thanks and regards,

Carl G.

9 REPLIES 9
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hi,

that is totally not a problem, actually a requirement. Just ensure you have both components in your license, but that how it should be by default in most scenarios.

Regards,

Juan

SASNewbie
Fluorite | Level 6

Whoaw that was quick! Yeah sure let me give it a try and if I encounter anything I will immediately post a reply. I have another question though cause I already have Data Integration installed in my laptop, should I need to uninstall DI before I install the base software or is it ok to install the base software directly? Thanks!

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

I just want to adjust @JuanS_OCS a little bit (hope you dn't mind).

DI Studio is a "thin" (if you can call a locally installed Java application thin) client. It requires a SAS server licensed with Data Integration server/Data Management Standard/Advanced. No Base SAS needs to be installed on the same machine. In larger DIS sites this quite unusual. It's more common to pair DI Studio with Enterprise Guide as an add on tool for the DI developer.

To use Base (or DMS SAS) you need to use SAS/CONNECT to assign to the SAS server, and constantly use RSUBMIT. Not worth it if you ask me. And nowadays (9.4 unfortunately in your case) I think you could SAS Studio (a really thin client) as complement to DIS.

Data never sleeps
SASNewbie
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Linus,