BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
yogez1
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello Experts.

I am new to the world of SAS, and finding my ways to upgrade the SAS server from old to new version, hence I would appreciate if some one can provide me the details about how to go ahead on this.

Regards,

Yogesh

8 REPLIES 8
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Here is a link to the SAS Upgrade resources: http://support.sas.com/software/updates/index.html

With all due respect if you are a newby you should be getting expert advice on this and not just reading the documentation. SAS and a few third parties have experts who can help you make the right decisions regarding your SAS infrastructure. There are a lot of key architectural decisions required that can only happen with good advice.

yogez1
Fluorite | Level 6

Thanks for your information SASKiwi :), this will definitely help me. I appreciate !

Anand_V
Ammonite | Level 13

Hi @yogez1 

As advised by @SASKiwi SAS upgrade requires quite a lot of discussions around architecture, approach (i.e. automated, partial promotion) compatible versions etc depending upon the SAS product suite or solutions you have installed at your site. While the documentation should be a good place to start understanding the various phases/process part of this exercise, getting help from experienced folks would help in making the right decisions and save a lot of effort and pain.

I would advise you to engage professional services that SAS provides to understand the complexity and work involved in doing the upgrade.

yogez1
Fluorite | Level 6

thanks for your input Anand I will discuss this will our management but I appreciate your reply thanks you !

Kurt_Bremser
Super User
  • Are you an expert in handling your server's operating system?
  • Have you already done a complete SAS install from scratch?
  • Do you know what a domain name, a network address, a network port is?
  • Can you find the description for a system error message code on the internet, and make sense from it?