BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Ksmith
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi

I am very new to administering SAS. When mapping metadata folders to a phyiscal directory on the linux server, can the phyiscal directories be anywhere on the server? Or do they need to be located under the Metadata server directory? I have searched the communities but I am not sure.

Thanks in advance.

Kathy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Metadata folders exist solely in metadata, they have no connection to the physical file system.

Some objects stored in metadata will have a physical location assigned (like libraries or the repository for the stored process codes), but not the folder structure itself.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Metadata folders exist solely in metadata, they have no connection to the physical file system.

Some objects stored in metadata will have a physical location assigned (like libraries or the repository for the stored process codes), but not the folder structure itself.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20
If you are new as a SAS admin you should benefit from taking a SAS Platform Administration training.

When designing the metadata folder tree you should involve any SAS solution architect or anyone with a similar role.
Data never sleeps
MichelleHomes
Meteorite | Level 14

Hi Kathy,

You may also find it useful to read @angieh's SAS Global Forum paper "Getting Started with Designing and Implementing a SAS 9.4 Metadata and File System Security Design" to help guide your SAS metadata and file system security design. https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Global-Forum-2017/If-you-are-interested-in-SAS-Metadata-Security-...

Kind Regards,

Michelle

//Contact me to learn how Metacoda software can help keep your SAS platform secure - https://www.metacoda.com