BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
rwan1
Obsidian | Level 7

Dear all,

I'm a new administrator for SAS -- I won't be using it, but have been asked to install it on a Linux-based (Ubuntu 18.04) server for users.  I just installed it and all of the programs installed, except the very end with some updates (SAS Install Qualification Tool).  I plan to look into them later.

But then, I was stuck as to what to do next.  How do I know if it worked?  I looked around the Internet, and some suggested going to ../SASHome/SASFoundation/9.4/ and then running "./sas".  I tried that, but I ended up with these warnings, followed by this error:

WARNING: Display of UTF8 encoded data is not fully supported by the SAS Display Manager System.
WARNING: Normal task completion intercepted.
NOTE: SAH239999I DMS, State, stopped
ERROR: Failed to attach to Java during SAS startup.

I don't know what to do next...  I looked on this forum, and one user had a similar problem to me, but s/he ended up editing../SASHome/SASFoundation/9.4/nls/en/sasv9.cfg .  However, I have a../SASHome/SASFoundation/9.4/sasv9.cfg file and the value for -JREOPTIONS appears correct.  At least, the -Djava.class.path value points to an existing jar file.

Is there any way to give a more verbose reason as to why Java failed?  Java is installed:

$ java -version
openjdk version "1.8.0_191"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_191-8u191-b12-0ubuntu0.18.04.1-b12)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.191-b12, mixed mode)

$ which java
/usr/bin/java

Outside of this forum, I found a few people discussing about installing/removing SAS and Java, but such advice didn't make sense to me.  I don't mind trying this, but it seems to me this is a shot in the dark and perhaps I should ask on this forum before trying something like that.

Any help would be appreciated!  Thank you!

Ray

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions