BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JuanDaniel
Quartz | Level 8

Hi!

I am new in SAS, i was working with others ETL solutions but i dont know what is the best method to work with SAS.

I have 1 SAS office Analytics Server and in my local PC i have 1 Enterprise Guide. What is the best pratices to configure 2 environments (test and production)?

If i need change data source from diferents database (also DEV and PRO) how i can change easy from one source to another when i develop in SAS enterprise GUIDE? Only can i do this with scripts or i can configure something in the server for do this task?

I saw an example project and the way that is doing this process is defining 1 variable for go to DEV libraries or to go to PRO libraries? Something like this:

IF environment = DEV

LIBNAME A = 1

ELSE

LIBNAME B = 2

It 's a good practice?

Thx

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hello @JuanDaniel,

my best recommendation would be to create a new deployment. You have now a SAS/Config/Lev1, where you have defined everything for Production. I would do a similar deployment, but on SAS/Config/Lev2, which you can name as Development or Test. This deployment would create a new metadata server, where your code and developments would be separated from Production.