BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
er7212
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello all

I am new to PROC MIXED and having a trouble understanding SAS Doc Example (Example 79.5 Random Coefficients) as referenced here. So in the first part of the example, we fit the following random intercept/slope model to the RC data with 'Batch' as the grouping (clustering) element:

proc mixed data=rc;
   class Batch;
   model Y = Month / s;
   random Int Month / type=un sub=Batch s;
run;

And based on Output 79.5.3, we have 2 columns per each subject which translates to 6 random effects that are related to each other with a full unstructured format. This means that the G matrix is 6 by 6 and all of 36 elements are parameters to be estimated. But later on, when I look at Output 79.5.5, I can only find 4 of those estimates. So the question is what happened to other G parameter estimates and how I can retrieve those?

Appreciate any words of wisdom anyone could share.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Output 79.5.8 shows the estimated slope and intercept for each of the three subjects. The G matrix is 2x2. Since G is symmetric, that implies 3 parameters for the unstructured covariance matrix. Reread the paragraph that begins "The two random effects are Int and Month," which includes the sentence, "In mixed model notation, G is block diagonal with unstructured 2x2 blocks. "

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Output 79.5.8 shows the estimated slope and intercept for each of the three subjects. The G matrix is 2x2. Since G is symmetric, that implies 3 parameters for the unstructured covariance matrix. Reread the paragraph that begins "The two random effects are Int and Month," which includes the sentence, "In mixed model notation, G is block diagonal with unstructured 2x2 blocks. "

er7212
Fluorite | Level 6