BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
PHILHILL25
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am relatively new to using SAS and was interested to see if I could gain some help on an issue I have run in to. My data is analysing the influence of sex (male/female), maturity offset (pre,circa,post), sex and maturity interaction (sex*maturity) and age (continuous) on jump performance.

Jump performance (outcome variable) is analysed through peak power (continuous) and then technical competence (mastery/near mastery/poor).

For peak power outcome I have run;
proc mixed data=WORK.PHIL method=reml plots=(studentPanel) alpha=0.05 covtest;
class ID Sex Maturity;
model HJ_out_ln = Sex Age Sex*Maturity / noint cl alpha=0.05 alphap=0.05;
repeated / Subject=ID;
lsmeans Sex*Maturity / diff adjust=bon alpha=0.1 cl;
run;

I have come very unstuck on how to approach the technical competence outcome though (mastery/near mastery/poor), through reading across discussions it may appear GLIMMIX should be used, but I am struggling on how to approach coding.

I am wondering if I could use the same for both outcomes, or whether I need to use alternative approaches.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

Many thanks,

Phil

4 REPLIES 4
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

Well, since competence is an ordinal variable, GLIMMIX and GENMOD come to mind.  Since I am more familiar with GLIMMIX, I'll give that a shot;

proc glimmix data=WORK.PHIL ;
class ID Sex Maturity;
model <competence variable> = Sex Age Sex*Maturity / noint cl alpha=0.05 dist=multinomial ;
random _residual_ / Subject=ID;
lsmeans Sex*Maturity / diff adjust=bon alpha=0.1 cl ilink;
run;

I have a couple of observations - one, you don't have Maturity as a main effect.  Is there a reason for that? Hopefully, you didn't remove it because it wasn't "significant". Two, you could get odds ratios from the lsmeans statement, but they all would be relative to the last Sex*Maturity category.  You might try this LSMEANS statement