BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RobinN
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I am trying to model the germination behavior of fungal spores. Therefore I've counted the germination rate at given times and now would like to perform a regression to a logistic function of this data to (statistically) compare the inflection point and the slope between different groups. From my mathematical standpoint, this should be easily possible as these are the key parameters that would be estimated by the regression of a standard logistic function in the form of f(x)= L/(1+e^(-k(x-x0))) where x0 is the inflection point, k the slope and L the function's maximum value ). 

Example data would be: 

Organism Time after inoculationGermination rate in %
FungiA90
FungiA125
FungiA1511
FungiA1852
FungiA2187
FungiA2493
FungiA9695
FungiB90
FungiB120
FungiB151
FungiB183
FungiB218
FungiB2415
FungiB2721
FungiB9688

As I'm new to SAS I rely on the methods that are already known in my working group and we've tried a lot of calculations based on probit or logistic models but as they both model the probability converging to 1, which doesn't account for spores that are dead and will never germinate (in some cases up to 40%) it is for me not sufficient to describe the data. My research regarding this topic couldn't help me either.

May some of you have ideas on how this could be calculated and give me a hint on which procedures might be helpful. I'm working with the SAS University Edition  

Thanks a lot for your help and input 

Robin

9 REPLIES 9
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

For data of this sort, I like a 4 parameter logistic model, and I implement it in either PROC NLIN or NLMIXED.  Here is some sample code that I have used for vector potency fit to the 4 parameter logistic:

proc nlmixed data=long maxiter=5000 fdh=central tech=quanew;* hs=2 linesearch=5 ;
parms a0=8 b0=6 c0=12 d0=20 a1=-2 b1=1 c1=-1 d1=-7 a2=-2 b2=6 c2=-1 d2=-6 s2=.001 mu=0;
if (t1=0 and t2=0) then do;
a=a0;
b=b0;
c=c0;
d=d0;
end;