BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi all, today, when I try to run a regression by using PROC GLM, I face this problem

ERROR: Number of levels for some effects > 32767.

My code is

libname input 'C:\Users\pnguyen\OneDrive - Massey University\PhD JOURNEY\leniency & operating\datasas' access=readonly;
proc copy inlib=input outlib=work mt=data;
run;

proc glm data=work.merge_treat_con;
    class type yr;
    model wtot_ass_tur = pt type yr/solution ss3;
run;
quit;

I am wondering what does this mean regarding the word "levels" mean in this error? And how come we overcome this limitation or any alternative solution?

Warmest regards.

Thank you for your help, have a fabulous and productive day! I am a novice today, but someday when I accumulate enough knowledge, I can help others in my capacity.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User
CLASS statement is for categorical variables. It's saying one of your categorical variables, type or YR has more than 32k unique values which means it's likely not categorical and doesn't belong in the CLASS statement.

When learning a procedure, first work through the examples in the documentation, then search on lexjansen.com for that procedure and the term workshop or tutorial to learn about it.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
StatDave
SAS Super FREQ
The "levels" of a variable just means the distinct values of the variable in the data. From this and your previous post about "fixed effects" I assume you mean a model which avoids estimation of parameters for the many levels in that variable. You can do that using the ABSORB statement. Details on this and other fixed effects models are in the book "Fixed Effects Regression Methods for Longitudinal Data Using SAS" (Allison, P., SAS Institute, 2005).
Phil_NZ
Barite | Level 11

Hi @StatDave