BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Abishekaa
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone, Thank you in advance for your help. I am a SAS beginner, and trying to carry out meta analysis using proc mixed.

I have results from two linear regressions carried out, stratifying by location. I need to meta analyse regression results from two locations.

I am stuck at the beginning 😞

1) What should be the input data for this analysis? Is it the whole dataset (merged from both locations), or beta and se estimates from the two models?

2) Do I need to include a "parms" statement and include my estimates this way?

I do realize my program should look something like this:

PROC MIXED DATA=final;
CLASS location;
MODEL protein = / P SOLUTION;
RANDOM location / SOLUTION;
run;

Thanks so much again!!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

The PROC MIXED code you presented will work for the coefficients, provided you have equal numbers of observations for each location and the variances are relatively equal.  However in this case it probably makes more sense to fit the regressions with location as a random effect.  I don't know what the independent variable and dependent variable are for your case, so I will just put them in as X and Y, respectively.

Then combine the datasets (if available to you) into a single dataset (called HAVE in this case), and try the following;

proc mixed data=have;
class location;
model y = x / solution cl;
random location / solution;
run;

If you go this route, you will not have to worry about how to convert the std errors of the parameters into weights for the analysis.  However, this method can be a problem if you have only summary data (coefficients and s.e.'s for several studies/locations).

SteveDenham

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19