BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS93
Quartz | Level 8

I'm working with complex survey data to get annual estimates for a particular dichotomous variable; I want to estimate if there's a trend in prevalence over time.

I'm planning to:

1. merge each year's dataset together
  2. create a categorical variable for all the years (my x variable)
  3. run logistic regression using the dichotomous variable as y.

Right now, I don't plan on using any extra control variables like race or age--I'll add those in later if I need to. 

I'm still fairly new to certain parts of working with complex survey data. Is there anything in particular I need to be sure to add into my code? 

Currently, it looks like this:

PROC SURVEYREG Data=trends Total=TOTALS NOMCAR;          
 Weight weightvar;
 Strata stratavar;
   Class year (reference='2013');                    *2013 = beginning;
   Model y (ref='0') = year / vadjust=none;      *Modeling probability for 'yes' outcome';
   lsmeans year / diff;
 Format year year.;
 Run;

6 REPLIES 6
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

The code you have will let you know if any of the years differ.  To get at trends, you will need to implement either a CONTRAST statement or an LSMESTIMATE statement.  I don't know how many years are in the model, but assume that there are data for 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 and 2019 (7 years).

Using LSMESTIMATE:

lsmestimate year 'Linear time' -3 -2 -1 0 1 2 3;

/* if you also wanted to look for both a linear and a quadratic trend it would be
lsmestimate year 'Linear time' -3-2-1 0 1 2 3,
                            'Quadratic time' 5 0 -3 -4 -3 0 5;

Alternatively, you could fit time as a continuous variable by deleting the CLASS year statement.

SteveDenham

ChuksManuel
Pyrite | Level 9
Hi Steve,

This thread was helpful. I completely understand your explaination on this comment. I am implementing a similar trend analysis but with 12 year cycles from 2008 to 2019.
Would the contrast be something like this ?