BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
zongxi
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am new to proc QLIM and recently use it to estimate the structural equations. 

In the model, I have three endogenous variables and two of them are discrete.  

QLIM reported the following model fit summary, 

"Optimization method": "Quasi-Newton" 

"Seed for Monte Carlo Integration": 1514161564

"Number of Draws": 20

I was wondering how QLIM estimate the model and what's the assumption behind. 

I assume it's using MLE estimation (multivariate normal distribution in my case) but wondering what's the assumption behind regarding the correlations between the three random variables. 

Can anyone help provide the MLE equation and estimation steps for this model? 

thanks in advance

========================================================

proc qlim data=review;

model y1 = y2 y3 z1/ discrete;

model y2 = z2 / discrete;

model y3 = z3;

run;

3 REPLIES 3
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

It is always dangerous to use a technique without at least some background on the details of what the procedure is doing.  This is a good time to read the Details part of the documentation for PROC QLIM, located here:

https://documentation.sas.com/?cdcId=pgmsascdc&cdcVersion=9.4_3.4&docsetId=etsug&docsetTarget=etsug_... 

This is long, and many parts have nothing to do with your questions - but all of them are answered at some point in here.

SteveDenham

zongxi
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you Dr Denham. Thanks for your suggestions. My question is specific on how to derive the MLE in the case of Probit regression with binary and continuous endogenous variables. I read the SAS link you provide and Econometric Analysis of Cross Section and Panel Data (Wooldridge 2011). I derive the MLE myself,It's long and tedious and I am not sure it's correct or not. 

suppose I want to estimate the list of equations, 1[.] is the indicator function, I ignore intercept and coefficients for simplicity. 

y1=1[x+y2+y3+y4+e1>0] (1)
  y2=1[z2+e2>0] (2)