BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
blokeman
Fluorite | Level 6

SAS newbie here. My dataset is attached. There are four unordered response categories, three covariates (one with 2 df) and one clustering variable. Here's the code:

title "Frequentist equivalent of mnmixed1 in R with CompLemma (all verbs included) (AGQ = 11)";
PROC GLIMMIX DATA=mylib.smallermand method=quad(qpoints = 11);
class dv polarity time_period CompLemma / ref=first;
model dv (ref=first) = Word_Dist time_period polarity / SOLUTION DIST=MULTINOMIAL LINK=GLOGIT;
RANDOM INTERCEPT / SUBJECT=CompLemma GROUP=dv SOLUTION; 
         ods output solutionr=sr(keep=effect CompLemma estimate
                                 rename=(estimate=ssdev));
run; 

The results make sense except for one thing. The variance component, as well as all individual random effects, are reported as zero for the 2nd category pairing (C vs A). This seems implausible and also doesn't agree with results I've obtained with other (Bayesian) software. I fully buy that the overall random-effect variance may be very low for C vs A, and I fully buy that many of the individual random effects may be zero because many of the clusters have very few observations. But I do not buy that they are all zero and only for one category pairing. I rather suspect a newbie error committed by myself, somewhere.

Any and all feedback would be gratefully welcomed.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
STAT_Kathleen
SAS Employee