BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
R_mont
Calcite | Level 5

Good day, I am quite new with statistics and I have been working with a linear regression model using PORC GENMOD (with different link options, since not all my variables are normally distributed).

I am wondering which is the effect parameter that we interprete in this regression (the one from the Maximun likelihood parameter estimates table or the one with the differences of the response variable Least squares means)???

and if it should be interpreted differently?

Thank you a million!

Rebeca

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Good day, I am quite new with statistics and I have been working with a linear regression model using PORC GENMOD (with different link options, since not all my variables are normally distributed).

Link options are appropriate when the response variables is not normally distributed. It is wrong to pick link options because the predictor variables are not normally distributed.

I am wondering which is the effect parameter that we interprete in this regression (the one from the Maximun likelihood parameter estimates table or the one with the differences of the response variable Least squares means)???

The coefficient (or effect) of a variable is shown under "Estimate", as in this example: https://documentation.sas.com/?cdcId=pgmsascdc&cdcVersion=9.4_3.4&docsetId=statug&docsetTarget=statu...

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Link options are appropriate when the response variables is not normally distributed. It is wrong to pick link options because the predictor variables are not normally distributed.