BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
blokeman
Fluorite | Level 6

SAS newbie here.

My research problem involves an unordered quaternary outcome. There are two random effects which are crossed i.e. independent of each other. In addition to the usual MLEs for fixed effects and estimated SDs for random effects, I also need to extract the estimated random effects of each category of each of the two random effects because those estimates are of interest in themselves. My data file is attached to this message.

At the moment, I cannot get even a highly simplified model to fit:

PROC IMPORT OUT= MyLib.Mydata
DATAFILE= "E:\mydata.txt"
DBMS=TAB REPLACE;
GETNAMES=YES;
DATAROW=2;
RUN;

proc glimmix data = mylib.mydata method=Laplace inititer=9999;
class dep_var TrgPoS trigger CompLemma / ref = first;
model dep_var = TrgPoS / SOLUTION DIST=MULTINOMIAL LINK=GLOGIT;
RANDOM INTERCEPT / SUBJECT=trigger GROUP=dep_var SOLUTION;
RANDOM INTERCEPT / SUBJECT=CompLemma GROUP=dep_var SOLUTION;
run;

There are 20 more explanatory variables to add if/when this can be made to work. Presently, however, model fitting halts with the following error message:

The initial estimates did not yield a valid objective function.

This page suggested increasing the INITITER setting to try and solve this problem, that's why its value is set to 9999. But as you can see, it's not helping.

If I remove one of the random effects, then the model does converge (although with CompLemma as the only random effect it does complain about a G matrix not being positive definite). However, leaving a random effect out is not an option because both of them are of major importance to my research problem.

I'm running Windows 7, and my SAS version is 9.4.

11 REPLIES 11
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19