BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
DID
Fluorite | Level 6 DID
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello. I hope I've posted to the correct location. I'm using SAS version 9.4. I'm not a novice SAS user, but I'm not an expert. I use SAS in the context of applied public health, and any assistance using straightforward language, in addition to/instead of technical jargon, would be greatly appreciated.

I'm working on a difference-in-difference (DID) analysis of the impact of public housing demolition on violent crime at the census tract level (data sample attached). I am using annual data, and my timeline is from five years prior to the intervention (demolition) to five years post-intervention. My intervention group is a set of 8 "target" census tracts where public housing was demolished. My comparison group is a group of 8 "other public housing (OPH)" census tracts where public housing underwent routine maintenance. I have already conducted a couple of DID analyses using pooled data. My question stems from the third analysis--an event study. The demolitions in the target tracts occurred in different years, so in order to use the OPH tracts as a comparison group I matched the target and oph tracts based on the % males ages 15-34, and then assigned the 5-year pre-post timing of the target tract to its oph tract pair. Therefore I have a variable for each tract, as well as a "couplet" variable for each target/oph pair. The variable C00 is to include a variable that accounts for the fact that there are data from two censuses in the model.

My questions are:

1)I think I have a multilevel model here. I'm looking at census tracts and couplets of census tracts, but this isn't quite the same as looking at, for example, appointments of patients in clinics as in this SAS guide (http://support.sas.com/kb/40/724.html).I used this code first:

random int/subject=tract;