BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I have a BI Dashboard that shows a Complaint Type and a metric, and in BI Dashboard I can link to a WRS report to show the list of complaints of that complaint type that make up the metric; I can also pass the WRS Report a parameter - in this case - Complaint Type.

How do I set up the WRS Report so it will except the Complaint Type and filter the complaints based on the passed complaint type?

Do I use a filter that has user input setting, that prompts users to type in values?

Can I pass more than one parameter (critical or non-critical complaint)?

Does anyone know where this may be explained in documentation?

Thanks!
8 REPLIES 8
Jenn2
SAS Employee
Hello tries,
I'm not an expert in WRS but there is extra documentation provided through tech support called "SAS Notes." http://support.sas.com/notes/index.html. The keywords “passing the prompt in WRS” pulls up some information.

There is also information from the other threads that may help. For example, "Types of sources that can be linked” talks about report linking and “Linking Reports” talks about passing prompts.

I hope this can get you started until someone else chimes in.
AngelaHall
SAS Employee
To pass a filter to a WRS report, in the 'Links' tab of the BI Dashboard Indicator, you will need to specify the report name and then add a parameter. (See the Define the Links pg: http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/bidbrdug/61856/HTML/default/indicatornew.htm#n1inog0ruoo...

The key trick is that this parameter MUST have the exact same name as what is DISPLAYED to the user in the prompt (the 'Displayed Text' field). I copied & pasted from the Prompt in Information Map into the BI Dashboard Indictor screen, as spaces, cap letters, etc might not allow the match to occur (course, I didnt test that - but to eliminate any issues this seemed like the best approach).