BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
JPinkman
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

normally when I use a regular bar chart I use the 'grouping' option to stack category items. Now I need a dual axis line bar chart . I have created one using the custom chart option, and replaced 'clustering'  with ' stacking ' in the bar chart properties. However, when I use this chart in a report, the category  cannot be added to a grouping option. Is there another way to do this?

Thanks for your input

8 REPLIES 8
skillman
SAS Employee

JPinkman,

In the custom graph that you built, did you create a shared group role for the two bar charts? I was able to create a stacked bar chart with dual axis, but with my data it isn't the best visual:

custom_graph_1.png

custom_graph_2.png

-shawn

pei-hsuan
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I'm fairly new to SAS VA and have the same question to create a stacked bar-line chart through custom graph builder (and to correctly use it in the report designer). Would you please provide some instruction on this topic (or point me where I can find the instruction)?

Thank you!

Madelyn_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

The previous post appears to answer this question. Is there something not clear about the explanation?

pei-hsuan
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks so much for the reply! I tried to mimic what was shown in the previous post, but the bar charts weren't stacked. I also tried to save the graph and opened it in the Report Designer, and it didn't work too. Do you have any instruction video like the 'butterfly example' for this topic? That video is very helpful.

Thank you!

Madelyn_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I was able to create a bar-line chart where the bar is stacked. This is a very specific request and I am not aware of any videos available. So, here are the steps

1. In the custom graph builder, I placed a line chart and a bar chart on top of each other.
  2. On the Properties tab, I selected the Bar Chart from the drop-down list at the top and changed the Grouping Style to Stack.