BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JeremyAT
Fluorite | Level 6

Dear SAS VA Gurus,

I hope someone can help me with this. I'm relatively new to SAS and I need to edit a report developed by a colleague that has since left my organisation. This report contains a data filter that makes use of empty 'in' comparators within an IF statement. These empty 'in' comparators are also used in several calculated items throughout the report. I cannot for the life of me wrap my head around what these do. Could someone please explain it to me?

IF ( 'Stocktake Rolling Year'p In () )
RETURN ( ( 'Controlled Item Indicator'n In ('YES') ) OR (
'Rolling Stocktake Timetable'n In ('Year One') ) )
ELSE (
'Rolling Stocktake Timetable'n In ('Year Two') ) )
ELSE (
'Rolling Stocktake Timetable'n In ('Year Three') ) )
ELSE ( 'Main Asset Number'n Missing ) ) )

Picture1.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HunterT_SAS
SAS Employee

Actually I think this might be a defect in Visual Analytics. What version of Visual Analytics is this? I'm assuming 8.5.2 on Viya 3.5.

In short what you have here is an IN function that uses a Visual Analytics Parameter, as opposed to a regular data item. A parameter is a special type of data item you create inside of Visual Analytics that can be assigned to prompts (drop down list, etc) so that the value of the prompt is assigned to that parameter, and then used in calculated items and filters. 

This parameter is being used in an IN function such that if the parameter = any of the IN values then it proceeds to the next point....except obviously in your case the IN filters are all blank.