BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
RadDaddo
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am relatively new to SAS VA.  I have a report connected to a database loaded into SAS VA that is the overlaid w/ contextual additions/ changes including variable renaming, changes to the data type, duplication of variables, variable sorting, custom calculations, creation of geo-location items, creation of data hierarchies, custom filters, etc.  These changes can be saved as part of the report (which seems to be permanent) but can also be saved as extra-report context information called a "DataView".

Problem #1 (no co-existence): If I try to save a different DataView for the same report (for instance, if I make a set of simple context changes and then a set of more complex context changes), SAS VA only seems to overwrite the existing DataView and updates the old DataView w/ the new name.  It would be ideal to have 2 DataView attached to the report that I could apply as needed, but it seems that 2 DataViews cannot co-exist for the same report.

Problem #2 (non-detachable): Likewise, if I save the report w/ the DataView changes loaded, it does not seem that I can ever remove these DataView changes from the report... or even identify what changes the DataView was responsible for (except by comparing to a new no-context report). 

Problem #3 (de-synchonization): Then, if I create 2 reports using the same database, and save context changes to both reports (using the same DataView to which they are both attached), sometimes I end up w/ conflicts between data items in the second report (shows duplicate data items, one of which is highlighted as a duplicate) when I re-apply changes made to the first report and DataView.