BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Caro2
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

It's my first time in the forum so I hope this question hasn't been posted before.

My problem with SAS VA is that when using a bar chart, some of my groups don't have values in every category. Thus in these categories, there is no bar shown. is there a way to show a "zero" bar or at least a missing space where that bar should normally be? here is an example:

SASVAChart.png
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Well, I can't help with VA specifics, however code wise its pretty straight forward, just create a template of your categories, and then merge that with the data you have.  If you need specifics per parts of your data then proc sort distinct your data for the values you want, add a do loop to assign the categories, then merge back.  

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Well, first thing that comes to my mind, just add a row in your data for each missing category, with a result of 0, then all the categories will appear.

Caro2
Calcite | Level 5

yes that would be possible, but I would need to think about every possible combination of categories and also filters that may appear which makes this really hard. I was hoping for an easier solution directly in VA...

RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Well, I can't help with VA specifics, however code wise its pretty straight forward, just create a template of your categories, and then merge that with the data you have.  If you need specifics per parts of your data then proc sort distinct your data for the values you want, add a do loop to assign the categories, then merge back.  

itchyeyeballs
Pyrite | Level 9

You may be able to use a calculated query with the missing function to force VA to output a value.

Something like