BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
india2016
Pyrite | Level 9

I have one query that,I want to migrate windows VA server to Linux and I want checklist and procedure for that.Please give me detail and simple information as possible cause I am new in Administration(I am sas programmer but I want to know how to migrate ).

If anyone have checklist then please comment below.

Thanks in advance.

🙂 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
JuanS_OCS
Amethyst | Level 16

Hi @india2016,

I could give you a quick checklist, and I will, but let me give you first the 9.4 Migration guide http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/bimig/69173/HTML/default/viewer.htm#titlepage.htm

For you to know, there are 2 main wais to migrate: partial promotion (export and import spk packages from the SAS Management Console), or the SAS Migration Utility (SMU). For VA I would recommend the partial promotion because you can remain more in control, and it is not much extra time from SMU.

In short, very short (you should read the document):

- Install SAS VA and validate the installation on Linux.

- Implement integrations with your Active Directory and other systems (as your db drivers/connections, etc).

- Migrate your SAS datasets from Windows to Unix.

- Move your SAS code.

- Ensure permissions are fine on Linux for your code and SAS datasets.

- Migrate metadata security (users, groups, ACTs, etc).Ensure your Outbound access paswwords are filled manually.

- Migrate other things as Auth Domains and deployment folders

- Migrate metadata folders (empty folders)

- Migrate server definitions (your databases, settigs of your SASApps, etc)

- Migrate your meta libraries and ensure they are attached properly to the right connections.

- Test your libraries

- Migrate your metadata table definitions for the libraries.

- Migrate custom transformations, if any.