BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JohnDooris
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I am brand new to SAS Visual Analytics, so forgive me if there is an obvious answer to this question that I have missed (but I have searched this forum and have not found an answer). I am creating a stacked bar chart displaying the race/ethnicity (group) of a population over a 5 year period (category includes five values: 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019). I am displaying the frequency as my measure, but I would like the end user to be able to also see the frequency percent as a data tip. However, when I select frequency percent as a data tip value, the percentage is being calculated using the entire dataset's number of observations (all five years) as the denominator. What I want is to display the frequency percent using each distinct category's observations (i.e., each year's observations) as the denominator.

Someone posted a similar question to this forum and the response was to select "Normalize groups to 100%" in the options. While this does show the correct frequency percent (by year), it's not an ideal solution, because I lose the ability to visualize the magnitude of raw growth over time. I am attaching a screenshot of the problem below. For example, I want the frequency percent in the data tip to calculate the percentage of the Asian population in the Fall 2017 term as 596/6,688=8.9%, but the frequency percent is currently using the entire number of observations in the dataset (6,502+6,541+6,688+6,874+7,177) as the denominator.

Screen Shot 2020-11-10 at 4.42.51 PM.png

Appreciate any help!

Thank you,

John

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PetriRoine
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello @JohnDooris 

Welcome to our community! Yes, this is easily doable with the AggregateTable operator which you use to fix the aggregation to Term level.