BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sastuck
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello, I set up a variable called "presence" which is 0 if there is no university and 1 if there is a university present. This data is merged by FIPS with crime data, and I am wondering how I can use proc means to create meaningful descriptive statistics. Unfortunately, I keep meeting the error message "variable presence in list does not match type prescribed for this list." Do you have any suggestions? I am new to sas and appreciate the help! Here's my progress so far: 

data paper.arrests_schools;
set paper.arrests_schools;
presence=instnm;
if instnm=. then presence=1;
if instnm=Z then presence=0;
run;

/*not working*/ 
PROC MEANS data=paper.arrests_schools n mean median std cv min max skew maxdec=2;
var presence;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Is INSTNM a numeric or character variable? This statement will create PRESENCE as the same type of variable that INSTNM is.

presence=instnm;

This line will treat INSTNM as if it is a numeric variable since you are comparing it to a numeric missing value.

This line is comparing INSTNM to a variable named Z.  What type of variable is Z?

If you just want to create a binary variable to indict whether INSTNM is missing or not why not just use the MISSING() function?

presence = not missing(instnm) ;

That way you don't care whether INSTNM is numeric or character.

Or if you want to treat INSTNM=' ' and INSTNM='Z' as both indications of missing values then perhaps you want this.

presence = not (instnm in (' ','Z')) ;

If you want stats on this binary variable you can use MIN to indicate if it is ever false, MAX to indicate if it is ever true and MEAN to indicate the percent that are true.