BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SAS_AMUH
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS studio, and currently watching this video http://video.sas.com/detail/videos/how-to-tutorials.

At 7:58, the video shows the steps to create Bar Chart. 

In the video, they have 4 variables under the "ROLES";  "Category variable", "Response variable", "Group variable", "URL variable" and "BY variable".  SAS VideoSAS Video

However, my studio does not show those variables. Instead, I have "Category", "Subcategory" and "Measure".My ScreenMy Screen

I would really appreciate it if you could please explain to me why I have different functions under roles. 

Thanks in advance for your help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

That video was made with an earlier version of SAS Studio (probably 3.5). When I use SAS Studio 3.7, the method of choosing the response variable for a Vertical Bar Chart has changed a bit. The choice is still there, you just have to select it.

choice_task_SS3_7.png

Underneath the Subcategory choice, you'll see a drop down box for Measure. Your choices in that box are:

Frequency count (default)

Frequency percent

Variable

To pick the response variable, instead of using the frequency, choose Variable for Measure, as I show in my screen shot. Then you will see a + sign and you can pick your variable name and then underneath the variable name, you can pick the statistic you want.

The bottom line is that in the video, at time stamp 8:32, you see that the basic code as shown below (without the comments):

code_from_SS.png

Rather than relying on the interface and tasks to stay the same, if you focus on the code that's being generated by the task, you'll end up learning more about how PROC SGPLOT operates.

Hope this helps,

Cynthia

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Reeza
Super User