BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
rfisher
Calcite | Level 5

Hey Guys, 

I'm new to SAS and currently trying to examine correlations between answers to survey questions where participants were asked to position themselves on a seven-point-scale. In this survey, there were also values above 7 reserved for things like "dont know" or "dont care" which obviously I want to exclude from the correlation analysis. 

But: If im not mistaken, SAS Studio doesn't led me include multiple where-clauses into a correlation analysis. I already tried to put them directly into the code but then the log showed that only the last one hat been included into the calculation. Does anybody have a solution?

Thanks and best regards, Robert 

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

If this were "where clauses" related you should show what you have been attempting, what the clauses look like.

However, typically with survey data in the situation you describe it is very common to create recoded variables where the "don't know" "refused" or "not applicable" type of answers are set to missing so they are excluded from analysis of the scales.

In code terms if you have many similar response ranges to set you can use an array:

Array q   q1 q2 q5;  /* the q1 q2 q5 represent the names of the variables you want to recode you may be able to reference as q1-q10 if the ones you want have numeric suffixs and are in order*/

Array r   rq1 rq2 rq5; /* these variables will hold the results of the recodes should look exactly like the ones in Q but with a change to the names, you will discover that prefixing is preferred to suffixing  as lists like q1r - q10r do not behave as desired*/

/* the next line assumes your scale runs 1 to 7 and the values to remove are greater than 7. Any comparison that works is okay, such

as if q[i] in ( 10, 12, 0) then r[i]=.;

do i = 1 to dim(q);

if q[i] > 7 then r[i]=.;

else r[i] = q[i];

end;

I recommend adding a label to your recoded variables.