BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vicdicenzo
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS University but not SAS. I was hoping for a smoother transition but it hasnt gone that way so far.  I have a long program that initially uses 3 excel files. I have always used the infile statement to infile the data as a prn file.  Then follow the infile statement with an input statement to name the variables.  Thats not working at all.

So I tried using the snippet tool to bring in each file as an XLSX file.  I seem to be able to bring in the data.

But heres the dumb part - now what?  Ideally, I would like to bring in a file and then immediately do some manipulations to create new variables.  Then bring in the next file and do the same. Then the same thing with the third file.  But after I successfully bring in a file with the snippet tool, every single one of my If-Then statements is invalid.

I am at a loss now and need some help. I can share all my coding if needed.  Hopefully, I have made myself somewhat clear. Thanks in advance.  Below is an example of the first import. Every If-Then statement after that has an error message.

DATA DAILY;

/** Import an XLSX file. **/

PROC IMPORT DATAFILE="/folders/myfolders/COVER.XLSX"
OUT=WORK.COVER
DBMS=XLSX
REPLACE;
RUN;

IF MONTH=. THEN DELETE;

SUR_TYPE='AU';

****** DEFINE TIME BLOCKS ****;

IF MONTH=3 THEN BLOCK='1_MAR';
IF MONTH=4 THEN BLOCK='2_APR';
IF MONTH=5 THEN BLOCK='3_MAY';

******* DEFINE TIME BLOCK SIZE ********;

IF MONTH=3 THEN DO; N=31; N2=9; N1=N-N2; END;
IF MONTH=4 THEN DO; N=30; N2=8; N1=N-N2; END;
IF MONTH=5 THEN DO; N=31; N2=11; N1=N-N2; END;

****** DEFINE DAY TYPES ******;

IF DAYTYPE=1 THEN DAY_TYPE='WD';
IF DAYTYPE=2 THEN DAY_TYPE='WE';

****** TIME PERIOD HOURS ARE ENTERED ON THE COVER FORM;

****** DEFINE SAMPLING PROBABILITIES *****;

IF PERIOD=1 THEN TPROB=0.3;
IF PERIOD=2 THEN TPROB=0.7;