BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kirkends
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to SAS so forgive me if this is basic. I have a data set with 150,000+ rows, each with a unique ID, and 250 columns, all columns must be retained. However for this specific inquiry, I am only interested in 13 columns; each column is a variable with a valueof  "0" "1" "7" or "9".  I would like to make a new column that counts the number of times a "1" populates a column cell across the row/observation. 

For example:

count of "1"

ID         Col1    Col2     Col3    Col4    Col5     Col6      Col7    Col8................WANT 

152         1           0          1          0         1           9          1          7                        4

153         0           0          7          7         1           9          0          9                        1

154         1           9          1          9         9           0          0          9                        2

155         7           1          9          1         9           1          1          9                        4

156         9           0          0          9         0           0          0          0                        0

157         9           7          9          0         7           1          0          0                        1

I have tried solutions from other forums with similar problems haven't found anything that has worked for me. I appreciate the help!! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

A "variable" only occurs once per observation. So no need to count.

A VALUE on the other hand is a different matter.

Are your variables actually numeric or character? This would work for either though if the variables ar

data want;
   set have;
   countval = countc(cats(of col1-col13),'1');
run;