BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
andreaat
Calcite | Level 5

I am a beginner SAS University edition user so I'm not too familliar with all the terminology.

I'm trying to convert a character variable into a datetime variable. My variable is called startdate_q and the format is currently YYYY-MM_DDTHH:MM: SS.000-05. One cell under the variable startdate_q reads 2013-03-06T12:23:20.000-05

Im not sure what the last 7 characters represent (.000-05) so I would like to get rid of them.

Can someone please give me the exact code to convert this character variable into a datetime variable?

I tried using this code but it didnt work

data new;
set old;
startdate_Q_new = startdate_Q;
format startdate_Q_new yymmdd10.;
run;

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20
data want;
char_datetime='2013-03-06T12:23:20.000-05';
want_date_time=input(char_datetime, B8601DT.);
format want_date_time datetime20.;
run;
andreaat
Calcite | Level 5

I ran that code and it didn't work. 3 new numeric variables were created: want_date_time, k and k1 and none of them contain any data in them. No error code came back but this is what the log said

NOTE: Numeric values have been converted to character values at the places given by: (Line):(Column).
       76:25   
 NOTE: Variable k is uninitialized.
 NOTE: Variable k1 is uninitialized.
 NOTE: There were 30128 observations read from the data set WORK.CLSA2.
 NOTE: The data set WORK.CLSA3 has 30128 observations and 2363 variables.
 NOTE: DATA statement used (Total process time):
       real time           10.68 seconds
       cpu time            4.94 seconds

novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

Hello @andreaat  I owe you an apology for the EDIT that I did and didn't notify you. Please accept my sincere apologies. The edited version latest is

data want;
run;

I am really sorry again!

andreaat
Calcite | Level 5

No worries Thank you for helping me with this!