BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
AnnaCag
Calcite | Level 5

Hi 

I am trying to do the SAS Programming 1: Essentials course for a university assignment, I have absolutely no experience programming so I'm very new to this and sorry if I'm just being stupid! But the instructions say this: 

Start SAS Studio.

In the Files and Folders panel, navigate to the EPG1V2 folder that you created in Task 1.

Double-click setup.sas to open it. Don't run the code yet - you must edit the first line of code before you run it.

Expand the EPG1V2 folder in the Files and Folders pane. Right-click the data folder and select Properties. Highlight the file path shown in Location and copy it. Close the Folder Properties window.
In the Code window, edit the program as follows:

1. Highlight FILEPATH and paste the file path that you copied in the previous step.
  2. Do not make any other changes to the program.

but when I click on setup.sas I get this code:

/**********************************************/
/* DO NOT EDIT THE CODE BELOW */
/**********************************************/
%let path=~/EPG1V2/data;
libname PG1 "&path";

%include "&path/pg1v2.sas";

proc contents data=pg1._all_ nods;
run;

Which I assume isn't what I'm meant to get as it says not to edit it and doesn't say FILEPATH anywhere but I'm not sure why or what to do? 

Thanks in advance! 

3 REPLIES 3
a20121248
Obsidian | Level 7

The tilde (~) is a Linux "shortcut" to denote a user's home directory

So, if you have already unzipped folder in your path, just run the program, otherwise replace the tilde with the location of the folder.

%let path=~/EPG1V2/data;

There is a video with the instructions:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?hd=1&v=rCZ9CoD-cmc&feature=youtu.be

Best regards,

Javier

Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi: