BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
arbnmedic33
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all; Thanks in advance for any assistance. Self taught, novice SAS programmer here, working with 'x' commands, running SAS in Linux. My issue is zipping various types of data files using the 'tar' command in a SAS program and placing those files in the correct directory.

In the program, lines 1-51 work fine, no issues. Problem starts at line 57 with the 'x tar...' statements. The files are zipping, but they are being placed in the incorrect location and not the "...EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X, 2X, 3X, etc..." as the 'tar' command lines direct. Most likely I am incorrect on the syntax for that action.

As a work around, I added a series of 'cp' statements to copy the files to the correct location(s). I get a 'cannot stat' from Linux for each one of those 'cp' commands.

Once again, thanks for any assistance, actual SAS program is attached.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Quentin
Super User

This statement:

x tar -czvf "&path2/EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X.tar.gz" "&path2/EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X";

I think tells tar to make a file EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X.tar.gz and put it in the directory &path2. 

Are you saying you want a file named tar.gz in the directory &path2/EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X ?   Then I think just add a slash:

x tar -czvf "&path2/EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X/tar.gz" "&path2/EDA_PROCESS_OUTPUT_1X";

It's probably odd to have a file named tar.gz, you might want to give it a more descriptive name.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Mike Raithel presenting on validating data files on Wednesday July 17. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Quentin
Super User