BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
David20
Calcite | Level 5

I  have multiple .xpt files (v8) created using the loc2xpt macro which I need  to convert to sas files using the xpt2loc macro.  I am new to sas but I have managed to use the macro to convert a single file:

%xpt2loc ( libref   = work, memlist  = _all_ , filespec = 'c:/myfile.xpt') 

However I cannot loop through a directory and select all the .xpt file names to use in the filespec. I have trying to adapt the code below which I have found on these boards  but so far have been unsuccessful. 

%let path=C:\XPT Datasets;
filename xptfiles pipe "dir /b ""&path\%str(*).xpt"" " ;
filename code temp;
data files;
  infile xptfiles truncover;
  input filename $100. ;
  file code;
  put 'filename xptfile "&path\' filename +(-1) '" access=readonly;';
   put 'proc copy inlib=xptfile outlib=sasfile; run;' ;

run;

Any help would be appreciated. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
David20
Calcite | Level 5

Many thanks for both of these replies. This has helped a lot and I have been able to adapt these to create a working solution using the XPT2LOC macro, as I believe the proc copy statement will not work with v8 transport files created with the LOC2XPT macro. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
FreelanceReinh
Jade | Level 19

Hello @David20 and welcome to the SAS Support Communities!

The first of the two PUT statements in your code is not correct. It should rather look like this:

put 'libname xptfile xport "&path\' filename +(-1) '" access=readonly;';

Also, make sure that sasfile (which is a libref used in your PROC COPY statement) points to the destination folder of the SAS datasets to be created, e.g., with a LIBNAME statement:

libname sasfile 'C:\Temp';

(Replace C:\Temp by the correct path to the existing destination folder.)