BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sasinitialuser
Calcite | Level 5

hello.
I am a SAS beginner.

I have an experimental group, and I need to build a control group.
A control group must be created by matching control group subjects 1:1 based on two variables: age and sex of the experimental group.

Matching should be done using only those two variables, not the propensity score.

Should I use proc psmatch or inner join?
I would appreciate it if you could provide detailed code.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User
And if there is no match to your experimental group you'll drop the experimental case? That is what an inner join would do.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ballardw
Super User

Here is one way. This uses a Data step merge, which is different than an inner join.

You did not provide any example data so this a small dummy example. The possible controls do contain sex age combinations that do not appear in the example experimental group.

/* generate a possible list of controls */
data work.poss;
   do CID = 100 to 1000;
      sex = rand('BERNOULLI',.5)+1;
      age = rand('integer',14,18);
      randomizer = rand('uniform');
      output;
   end;
   label CID='ID in control set';
run;

/* randomize the order of the possible
   controls
*/
proc sort data=work.poss;
   by sex age randomizer;
run;

/* "experimental" set */
data work.exp;
   input id sex age;
datalines;
1 1 15 
2 1 15 
3 1 15 
6 1 16 
4 2 15 
5 2 15 
7 2 16 
8 2 16
;

proc sort data=work.exp;
   by sex age ;
run;

data work.want;
   merge work.poss (in=in1)
         work.exp (in=in2)
   ;
   by sex age;
   lid=lag(id);
   if in2;
   if id=lid then delete;
   drop lid randomizer;
run;