BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SanderB
Fluorite | Level 6

I’ve been writing macros for many years now, but I’ve run into a problem that I’ve never had before. Apparently, %INCLUDE works differently than I thought. Although I think I have done things like this in the past, I probably remember wrong because it doesn’t seem to work. And I can’t find any documentation explaining this.

As an example this piece of code works without problems:

%macro TestMacro;

%if 1 = 1 %then %do;
    %if 2 = 2 %then %do;
       %put THIS WORKS;
    %end;
 %end;

%mend TestMacro;

%TestMacro;

But if you put that piece with nested %IFs in a text file and include it in your code, it doesn’t work anymore:

%macro TestMacro2;

%include "…some path…\testinclude.txt";

%mend TestMacro2;

%TestMacro2;

Depending on the version you’re running you can get two different errors:

• ERROR: The %IF statement is not valid in open code.
  • ERROR: Nesting of %IF statements in open code is not supported.

The error messages suggest that the code in the include file is run in open code, as if it is executed in a separate environment or something. But you “inherit” stuff like macro variables and other macros, so that doesn’t seem to be the case. Is it possible that SAS runs a completely separate syntax check on the code in the include file, which doesn’t include the macro that is around it?

I’ve looked for any documentation online but I can’t find anything.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Your error message makes perfect sense.  You created a macro that generates ONE statement.  The %INCLUDE statement.  So by the time the %INCLUDE statement runs the macro processor has finished its work so the %IF statement in the included file is being run by SAS, not by the macro processor.