BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Moksha
Pyrite | Level 9

Hi, I am new to SAS and trying to print the last 10 records of sashelp.class. I am dropping obs from the output and want to bring the currentobs as the first column. But, whatever options that SAS suggests like using of keep, retain, format, informat, length and attrib before set statement are not working in this example. Please, help me understand what is wrong with the code and how to print the variables in the order currentobs, Name, sex, age, height, weight.

Here is the code that I am using:

data lasttenobs ;
if 0 then set sashelp.class nobs=n;
put "no. of observations =" n;
put "no. of observations...... =" n;
startobs=n-9;
/* format currentobs name age sex height weight;*/
/* keep currentobs name age sex height weight;*/
do i= startobs to n by 1 ;
currentobs=i;
/* length currentobs 4;*/

put "current obs=" currentobs;
keep currentobs name age sex height weight;
/* informat currentobs name age sex height weight;*/
set sashelp.class point=i;
put "observation #" i;

/* retain currentobs name age sex height weight;*/
/* output lasttenobs;*/
output lasttenobs;

drop startobs;
end;
stop;

run;
proc print data=lasttenobs noobs;

run;

OUPUT of the above code:

Name Sex Age Height Weight currentobs
JohnM1259.099.510
JoyceF1151.350.511
JudyF1464.390.012
LouiseF1256.377.013
MaryF1566.5112.014
PhilipM1672.0150.015
RobertM1264.8128.016
RonaldM1567.0133.017
ThomasM1157.585.018
WilliamM1566.5112.019

But, I want the currentobs as the first column. Please, help.

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Don't do it by re-ordering variables in the data step.

Do this by using the VAR statement in PROC PRINT.

proc print data=lastenobs noobs;
    var currentobs name sex age height weight;
run;
--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
PaigeMiller