BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Banu
Obsidian | Level 7
Hi,

I am new to SAS and got one requirement to automate one manual task. I have multiple servers like 'A','B','C','D'. Here 'A' is the Cenrtal server which has SFTP/SSH connections to all B,C & D servers. We have monthly jobs in 'B server which outputs SAS dataset in 'B' server and then SFTP to the 'A' server. From 'A' server we publish to 'C' and 'D' servers. Now I wants to automate the script to capture the SAS dataset which published in 'B' server is available in all A,C and D servers. Have all SFTP connections from A to B and A to C and D.
Please suggest how to can we achieve on this. SAS datasets are in UNIX server.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

So you want to test if a file (in your case a .sas7bdat file) exists on a remote server, and do this non-interactively.

A possible command to do this is

ssh servername.domain.com test -f '/complete_path/dataset.sas7bdat'

The single quotes are there if you need to send something like $HOME to the remote server. The command will return a 0 if the file exists, and a 1 if not.

So start with creating a dataset with host names and dataset names:

data datasets;
input servername :$100 dsname :$200;
datalines;
server_a /path/test1.sas7bdat
server_b /path/test1.sas7bdat
;

Then you can run a data step off that and record the result:

data results;
set datasets;
length command $200;
command = "ssh " !! strip(servername !! " test -f '" !! strip(dsname) !! "'";
result = system(command);
run;

If you're not sure what the command returns, use a dynamic pipe to get messages:

data results;
set datasets;
length command $200;
command = "ssh " !! strip(servername !! " test -f '" !! strip(dsname) !! "'; echo $?";
infile dummy pipe filevar=command truncover eof=done end=last;
start:
  input line $100.;