BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
weg
Obsidian | Level 7 weg
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello, I am a beginning SAS programmer trying to wrap my head around understand the idea behind putting a set statement inside of a do loop. My general understanding of `set lib.table` is that it reads the _N_'th observation from the  given table where _N_ is the PDV's internal counter.  Inside of a do loop I was surprised to find that it looks like it has its own _N_ that starts back from 1, I.E:

if _N_ = 1 do i=10 to 20; set lib.table; end;

will give you the first 10 observations from lib.table regardless of the index of i, or the current _N_ of the data step.  That is, the above code appears no different then  if I had started on the 10th observation for an appropriately sized data set:

if _N_ = 10 then do i=10 to 20; set lib.table; end;

also, the following code threw me for a loop:

data test;
        input name : $ 13. rate;
	datalines;
A 1
B 2
C 3
;
run;

data test2;
	set test;

do var=1 to 2;
		set test;
		output;
	end;
run;

Here the output table is

name     rate     var
 A	  1	   1
 B 	  2	   2
 C 	  3	   1

Q1   so my understanding is the data step starts its iteration _N_= 1, gets to the do loop and writes A and B rows to data steps, exits, goes to _N_ = 2, starts the do loop and surprisingly somehow retains its internal _N2_ value to go to C row,  goes to i=2 and runs out of data so calls a quit and both the do and data step are exited out of.   Is this correct understanding? Its kind of throwing me for a loop that the internal do statements variables are scoped to the entire data step instead of each iteration...

my other questions