BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
eeun1ilee
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm pretty new to SAS and I'm having difficulty importing this dat file.

Screenshot 2022-01-14 211641.png

Hopefully, everyone can see the upper image. So I used the upper codes to see the output and this is what I get:

Screenshot 2022-01-14 211607.png

Basically nothing.. I opened up the dat file in txt and there should be 32 observations and you can see the rest:

Screenshot 2022-01-14 211839.png

I googled and searched on youtube to see what I did wrong and I tried several codings but none of them showed me the full data when I check my output window. Oh, and I checked the log and it said invalid data etc etc (sorry they were too long but i'm pretty sure you get the point). Can you tell me what I did wrong? I am a very novice so please be understanding. Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

The file probably has TAB characters to make it appear in such neat columns.  Also if a person had typed using spaces they probably would have aligned the ones place in the first column.

Try adding DSD and DLM='09'x to your INFILE statement after the filename.

If that doesn't work then run a simple data step to check what is actually in the file.

Something like this (I can't use your actual filename since you posted photographs of text instead of just copying the text and sharing that).

data _null_;
  infile '/home/......' obs=4;
  input;
  list;
run;

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

The file probably has TAB characters to make it appear in such neat columns.  Also if a person had typed using spaces they probably would have aligned the ones place in the first column.

Try adding DSD and DLM='09'x to your INFILE statement after the filename.