BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
BrianB4233
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I apologize in advance if this isn't the correct forum or place to ask this question but I've found sparse info elsewhere. Anyway, I'm a programmer that is on multiple projects with separate tasks for each, and often, it gets muddy for me. So I'm querying this community to ask what resources/software others use to keep track of these things, e.g., Excel, something SAS includes that I'm not aware of or haven't utilized, Microsoft Project. 

As a note, I do have Microsoft Project but the learning curve seems to be a bit steep and it seems to be aimed more towards a project team rather than an individual.

Thanks, Brian.

8 REPLIES 8
SASJedi
SAS Super FREQ

What are you attempting to manage? For code, I use GitHub (or a SAS internal version of GitLab) to keep project code. As for managing my time, I generally use my Outlook calendar to manage all of that. If you are responsible for project planning, estimating, and management, MS Project is the best tool I've found for that. The learning curve is worth it, especially if you manage a team for each project. It can help you ensure no-one gets over-committed, etc. 

Check out my Jedi SAS Tricks for SAS Users
SASKiwi
PROC Star

What tools does the organisation you work for use? Most will use project management and change management tools of some kind and its better to use the ones already in use than to choose something completely different. As already mentioned, git is great for change management. Git integrates well with MS DevOps which is great for project management as well. Ask around your organisation - what is already being used?

Quentin
Super User

Are you trying to manage stuff for a team, or 'just' your own work?

We've gone agile at work, so each project has backlog of stories, and stories get pulled into sprints and assigned to you etc.  But I don't actually use that to track my own work.