BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

I am relatively new to SAS, although I am learning. My only prior programming experience was with Tradestation Easy Language which, is, way more intuitive than SAS. Here, I am looking to run several statements at once. In Tradestation, it would run something like this:

If Condition 1 then begin ;

Variable1 = X

Variable2 = Y

Variable3 = Z ;

...Variable1000 = ZZ ;   (ETC.)

End ;

Ok... now in SAS, I want to do something similar. I have looked at arrays, and maybe that is the best way here, or not.

Below is the code. Now, if I had 100 different arguments or variables etc, which would be calculated if condition 1 were true, what is the most efficient way to write this code? Here, the condition is Nmiss(of Score1-Score5) eq 0. How can I only write this condition once and have the Maxscore, SecondLargest, and Minscore calculated?

Data review.Evaluate ; 
	Set learn.psych ; 
	If Nmiss(of Score1-Score5) eq 0 then Maxscore = Max(of Score1-score5) ; 
	If Nmiss(of Score1-Score5) eq 0 then SecondLargest = Largest(2, of Score1-score5) ;
	If Nmiss(of Score1-Score5) eq 0 then Minscore = Min(of Score1-Score5) ; 
run ; 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
HB
Barite | Level 11 HB
Barite | Level 11

http://documentation.sas.com/?docsetId=basess&docsetTarget=p0pcj5ajwyngron1wlsq0tet0hce.htm&docsetVe...

/* a more efficient method */
data updatedattractions2;
   set mylib.attractions;
   if City = 'Madrid' then
      do;
         Museums = 3;
         Other = 2;
      end;

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
HB
Barite | Level 11 HB
Barite | Level 11

http://documentation.sas.com/?docsetId=basess&docsetTarget=p0pcj5ajwyngron1wlsq0tet0hce.htm&docsetVe...

/* a more efficient method */
data updatedattractions2;
   set mylib.attractions;
   if City = 'Madrid' then
      do;
         Museums = 3;
         Other = 2;
      end;