BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jk101564
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am trying to do the following task but since i am new to SAS, I need some help. If anyone can help me out. 

Generate 20 observations for the total population estimate of females that worked full-time. Also, i need to create a variable that contains the maximum earning. For example, for label $2,500 to $4,999, the variable would include value 4,999. Also, i need to 

store this data in a raw data file. Sort the data from highest amount earned to the lowest amount earned. Store this sorted data in a second raw data file. Perform another sort to order the data from highest population number to lowest population number. Store this sorted data in a third raw data file. Keep the two related data variables associated so that after each sort the amount earned is associated with the population number or the number of people that earned that amount. 

Here is the code i have so far.  

PROC IMPORT DATAFILE='file.csv' replace DBMS= csv OUT=file.population
run;

Data Fem; 
SET population; 
Where Gender = 'Female' AND Status ='Fulltime';
run;

/*Creates a raw 'txt' file to hold the data*/
DATA _NULL_
SET Fem;
FILE PRINT 'T0.txt';
PUT SEX $ POPULATION Salary_Low Salary_High;
run;

/* Sorts the data by Salary_High in descending order (highest to lowest salary */
PROC SORT data = Fem; 
BY DESCENDING Salary_High; 
run;

/*Creates a raw 'txt' file to hold the data */
DATA _NULL_ 
SET Fem; 
FILE PRINT 'T1.txt';
run;

/* Sorts the data from Highest to lowest population #'s per salary*/
PROC SORT data = Fem;
BY DESCENDING Population;
run;

DATA _NULL_
SET Fem;
FILE PRINT 'T2.txt'; 
run;

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

@jk101564 wrote:

Hello, I am trying to do the following task but since i am new to SAS, I need some help. If anyone can help me out.