BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
bhuiyaas
Calcite | Level 5

Hi

I am new to SAS and trying to understand what do I need to know to resolve a problem explained below:

I am using SAS Enterprise Guide which is server based. (version: 7.12  (64-bit))

I have a SharePoint site (SharePoint Online 2013) which is part of Microsoft office Suite.

I have to integrate SAS and SharePoint in a way that my SAS code can update List in a SharePoint site. But I am not sure how I am going to establish a connection that would allow them to talk to each other. 

For example, I am aware that, with SAS I can connect to other applications, such as, Teradata (which is also located on a separate server) using a piece of code(No need for creating ODBC). I was told that the connection is already created once in global macro and can be used by all. So I just have to run that piece of code to establish a connection with the data residing on Teradata.

Now, coming to SAS and SharePoint, because I cannot use HTTP protocol, I am planning to use something like Access to establish the connection between the two.

I successfully managed to Link an Access Database (in my local machine) and update the SharePoint List as needed. [I can update/ select Access database using SAS EG in my local machine]

However, whenever I am trying to select/ update that particular Access file using SAS, I am getting 'Cannot connect to SharePoint site' error message. So I am wondering if there is any server side info that either servers (both SAS and SharePoint) needs which I am missing. If yes, can someone guide me on where I can get those info or whom I should talk to to get that info. And How I specify those information in SAS?

My assumption is that, although I am running SAS EG in my machine, it is running on a server which does not have the information for the server where SharePoint Online is hosted. And that's preventing the connection.