BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
solfay243
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to proc printto and was wondering if I could use the print= statement multiple times in order to have files made at multiple places. 

Here's what I want:

- I'd like to have 1 file that includes my log and my proc outputs in one single stream and have been doing that by setting the log= statement and print= statement to the same file location.

- I'd also like a separate file made that only includes my proc outputs.

From playing around with SAS, it seems that proc printto will only utilize the last print= statement. I was wondering if there were an option I could use where I could get both at the same time or if there was a different procedure I could use. I could just use an ods rtf/excel/pdf each time, but I'm wondering how to keep this as a SAS .lst file.

Many thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
solfay243
Obsidian | Level 7

For those interested, it would seem that short of using 3rd party software I have to make due with using ods rtf/pdf/excel to create an output only file in this case. I appreciate the replies here and we may have possibly found a new feature that SAS could work on implementing.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

Like this?

ods listing file="%sysfunc(pathname(WORK))\outputs.lst";

solfay243
Obsidian | Level 7
While this is a great suggestion, it seems that using ods listing file=; will negate the proc printto print=; statement and I end up with just two files with separate log and output results rather than the file results I desire.
ChrisNZ
Tourmaline | Level 20

> will negate the proc printto print=; statement