BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Shtag
Calcite | Level 5

I'm a novice SAS user and I am having an issue with an exported Excel workbook.

The file is 1.47MB when extracted, but another program errors out when reading it.  Once I open the file and do nothing other than hit save, it expands to 1.8MB and the other program is then able to read it.  I checked with a colleague who runs a larger daily report and it turns out his report does the same thing - expands once saved - so it's not unique to me it seems.  (It's not a problem for him as his report goes to a human user who has no problem opening the file.)  One thing I've considered is that I'm running 64-bit Windows and SAS EG but 32-bit Excel, but I'm not sure if that would cause this type of behaviour.

I've tried dbms=excel and xls, I've tried to use xlsb, but with my level of experience I'm really just feeling around in the dark.

EDIT - Sorry I didn't make the problem clear: I want the other program (a web-based mapping tool) to be able to read the Excel file without the user having to manually save it in Excel first.  For whatever reason, it can read the 1.8MB saved file but not the 1.47MB extracted file.

Below is the relevant part of the code. Any advice would be appreciated!

Proc export data=WORK.Table1
Outfile="/path/filename.xlsx"
dbms=xlsx replace; sheet=Table1;
RUN;

Proc export data=WORK.Table2
Outfile="/path/filename.xlsx"
dbms=xlsx replace; sheet=Table2;
RUN;

FILENAME Mailbox
EMAIL 'address'
CC='address'
Subject="Subject"
ATTACH=('/path/filename.xlsx' content_type="application/xlsx");

5 REPLIES 5
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I think that Excel saves redundant information when it saves the files. Perhaps your other program is following its experience of reading Excel generated XLSX files instead of following the specifications of how XLSX files are to be made.

Try making a small XLSX file with SAS.  Open it with Excel and save to a new file.