BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
saghaee
Calcite | Level 5

Hi, 

I have a program that I've been running for 4+ years in PC SAS without issue until recently. It's a long program that runs smoothly until it reaches this code (see below). It won't finish processing the code, so I abort it.  But when I rerun my program, in the same session, it works fine. Hoping somebody might have an idea what is causing this. Thank you. 

ods listing close; 
ods exclude all;
ods output modes=ht_modes;
proc univariate data=mom_vs_ge20 modes;
var ht;
by mrn;
run;
ods select all;
ods listing;

3 REPLIES 3
mkeintz
PROC Star

If the code you presented doesn't run the first time, but does run the second time - then clearly there is a difference between those two iterations.  And just as clearly (assuming the code you are showing us is unchanged between the two submissions), it must be due to some part of your program that precedes this code - i.e. somewhere in the code that you didn't show us.

There are some mighty smart and diligent folks on this forum - but they'd probably have to be clairvoyant to give a confident solution to your problem with the program fragment you have provided.

Provide the code, and the log (the whole log) that leads up to the point you choose to abort the program.  Put the program code - the whole code -  in the text box generated by the running man icon.

And provide the corresponding log - also using the running man icon.

Help us help you.

--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set

Would enabling PROC SORT to simultaneously output multiple datasets be useful? Then vote for
Allow PROC SORT to output multiple datasets

--------------------------
saghaee
Calcite | Level 5
Hi @mkeintz,