BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SixUnder
Obsidian | Level 7

I am new to SAS, and i have a problem I am trying to resolve. I have parts of it done but i keep getting errors and i thought why not post it on here, most i can do is get laughed at because i dont know SAS.

Problem.

Write a SAS® program to access the Microsoft® Excel® spreadsheet and select these four specific data items:

• Male, worked full-time with earnings of $55,000 to $100,000 or more population estimate
  • Female, worked full-time with earnings of $55,000 to $100,000 or more population estimate
  • Male, worked full-time other category with earnings of $55,000 to $100,000 or more population estimate
  • Female, worked full-time other category with earnings of $55,000 to $100,000 or more population estimate

Create a comma-delimited raw data file to store information that includes gender, earnings categories, and number of individuals in each category for only the data indicated above.

What i have done so far is attached in a comma delimited file as far as my excel sheet, I am not getting how to list these out and retrieve the data in a table. So far the code below is the best i have come up with for this resolution. Any help would be grand and appreciated.

Thanks!

data Auglaize;

infile ' /home/ktylu10/sasuser.v94/Week 2 Individual Auglaize County.csv’ dlm=',' firstobs=2;

input ? : $char# ? : $char# ? : $char#  ? : $char#;

run;

proc print data=Auglaize;

run;

7 REPLIES 7
mkeintz
PROC Star

If you're trying to read in a csv file, in which the first row are variable/column names, I'd suggest learning about proc import.  Then you can go on to the subsequent tasks.

--------------------------
The hash OUTPUT method will overwrite a SAS data set, but not append. That can be costly. Consider voting for Add a HASH object method which would append a hash object to an existing SAS data set

Would enabling PROC SORT to simultaneously output multiple datasets be useful? Then vote for